Ellen Churchill Semple Day

917 Patterson Office Tower


The University of Kentucky Department of Geography invites you to our 43rd Annual Ellen Churchill Semple Day, a celebration of the Geography Program, our history, our present students and faculty, our alumni and friends, and the achievements of all.

Ellen Churchill Semple, 1863-1933

Schedule of Events, Friday May 1, 2015                     

  • A Friday Afternoon Address by Professor Michael Brown, Department of Geography, University of Washington, at the Student Center room 230, University of Kentucky at 2:00pm. 
  • The Friday Evening Reception and Dinner held at the Lyric Theatre, (in downtown Lexington) at 6:00pm.

Ellen Churchill Semple was born in Louisville in 1863, and is considered one of the century's foremost geographers. She entered Vassar College at the age of 15 and received both her bachelor's and master's degrees from there. Her academic home was literally spread across the world; she was a keen believer in experiencing places and people as a means of better understanding them. Ms. Semple was a dedicated researcher and a profuse writer. She was named a charter member of the Association of American Geographers, and was elected the association's president (and first woman president) in 1921.

Semple Day is our annual spring celebration of the Geography Department at the University of Kentucky. Come and reacquaint yourself with the Department and University, and enjoy the day’s highlights: an afternoon lecture by a distinguished visitor and an evening celebration. The evening program includes a formal dinner, following a cocktail hour, at the recently reopened Lyric Theater in downtown Lexington, only a few blocks from campus. Faculty, staff, students, alumni, and friends of the department are all welcome. This event provides a chance to catch up with friends (and make new ones), a venue for a brief program of awards and recognitions, and a convenient departure point for post-Semple celebrations in one of the many new restaurants and watering holes in Lexington’s vibrant downtown social scene.

Friday Afternoon Address by Professor Michael Brown, Department of Geography, University of Washington, at the Student Center room 230, University of Kentucky at 2:00pm. 

Sex, Drink, and State Anxieties: Governance Through the Gay Bar

Professor Brown is one of the world’s leading scholars on urban public health, poststructural political theory, the urban politics of AIDS, and governmentality and gay men’s health. Much of his work examines the intersections of sexual citizenship and the political landscape. He has worked extensively on AIDS organizing and activism, on the production of citizenship by everyday acts in the actual places where we live our lives, and on the geographies of the metaphor of the closet. Professor Brown’s research lies at the intersection of urban, political and health geographies, and is often focused close to home, in Seattle, Washington. Professor Brown is a Professor of Geography at the University of Washington.

We welcome new friends at this event! Please contact the Geography Department's office for more information about joining us at Semple Day.

Past Speakers

  • Michael Brown, Professor, University of Washington [2015]
  • John Kupfer, Professor, University of South Carolina [2014]
  • Sarah Whatmore, Professor, University of Oxford [2013]
  • Trevor Barnes, Professor, University of British Columbia [2012]
  • Karl Zimmerer, Professor, Penn State University [2011]
  • Lynn Staeheli, Professor, University of Edinburgh [2010]
  • Carol Harden, Professor, University of Tennessee [2009]
  • Jamie Peck, Professor, University of Wisconsin (Madison) [2008]
  • Amy Glasmeier, Professor, Pennsylvania State University [2007]
  • Craig Colten, Professor, Louisiana State University [2006]
  • Nuala Johnson, Reader, Queen's University of Belfast, UK [2005]
  • John Antenucci, Founder and CEO, Plangraphics [2004]
  • Sallie Marston, Professor, University of Arizona [2003]
  • Sally Horn, Professor, University of Tennessee [2002]
  • Victoria Lawson, Professor, University of Washington [2001]
  • Eric Sheppard, Professor, University of Minnesota [2000]
  • Richard Walker, Professor, University of California, Berkeley [1999]
  • Susan Hanson, Professor, Clark University [1998]
  • Ron Eller, Director, Appalachian Center, University of Kentucky [1997]
  • David Harvey, Professor, Johns Hopkins University [1996]
  • Gurney Norman, Professor, University of Kentucky [1995]
  • B. L. Turner, II, Professor, Clark University [1994]
  • John A. Agnew, Professor, Syracuse University [1993]
  • George J. Demko, Professor, Dartmouth College [1992]
  • Anne Buttimer, Professor, Universite d'Ottawa [1991]
  • Saul B. Cohen, Professor, Hunter College [1990]
  • Harm J. deBlij, Professor, University of Miami [1989]
  • Sam Bowers Hilliard, Professor, Louisiana State University [1988]
  • Risa Palm, Professor, University of Colorado [1987]
  • Melvin G. Marcus, Professor, Arizona State University [1986]
  • Chistopher L. Salter, Professor, University of California, Los Angeles [1985]
  • Julian V. Minghi, Professor, University of South Carolina [1984]
  • Barry C. Bishop, Asst. to the President, National Geographic Society [1983]
  • Grady Clay, Editor, Landscape Architecture [1982]
  • Peirce Lewis, Professor, Pennsylvania State University [1981]
  • Michael P. Conzen, Professor, University of Chicago [1980]
  • Cotton Mather, Professor, University of Minnesota [1979]
  • Marvin Mikesell, Professor, University of Chicago [1978]
  • Preston James, Maxwell Professor, Syracuse University [1977]
  • Langdon White, Professor, Stanford University [1976]
  • John Fraser Hart, Professor, University of Minnesota [1975]
  • Preston James, Maxwell Professor, Syracuse University [1974]
  • J. R. Schwendeman, Professor Emeritus, University of Kentucky [1973]
Enter your link blue username.
Enter your link blue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected