Skip to main content
About Geography / Geography Events / Bailey Alumni Lecture

Bailey Alumni Lecture

The University of Kentucky Department of Geography invites you to our 8th Annual Harrison and Eva Lewis Bailey Distinguished Alumni Lecture. Harrison and Eva graduated from UK; Eva from Psychology in 1948 and Harrison from Geography in 1949. Read more about the fund here, established by Harrison in memory of Eva. 


Schedule of Events, Friday November 10, 2023                     

Afternoon Lecture: "Into the Woods: My 25-year trek into the U.S. Militia Movement"

Abstract: This talk looks at my evolving view of the U.S. Militia Movement over the last 25 years. Using my own experience researching the movement, I chronicle the movement's enduring features, its evolution, and its participation in the failed insurrection at the capitol, with an eye to the threat it poses to democracy and wider social justice in the U.S.

  • A Friday Afternoon Address by Prof. Carolyn Gallaher ('98), American University, W.T. Young Library, UK Athletics Association Auditorium, University of Kentucky at 3:00pm.

Dr Carolyn Gallaher is a Professor in the School of International Service. Her scholarship focuses on two distinct areas—the politics of right-wing paramilitaries and urban politics in DC. She is the author of three books. Her first book, On the Fault Line: Race, Class, and the American Patriot Movement, was based on her dissertation research on the Kentucky militia movement in the late 1990s and early 2000s. Her second book, After the Peace: Loyalist Paramilitaries in Post-accord Northern Ireland, examined the dynamics of continued paramilitarism after the historic 1998 Good Friday/Belfast Agreement. Her third book, The Politics of Staying Put: Condo Conversion and Tenant Right-to-Buy in Washington DC looked at tenant efforts to stay put during a period of rapid gentrification in DC. Professor Gallaher also writes for The Public Eye, StreetSense DC, and Greater Greater Washington.  

Please contact the Geography Department's office for more information about joining us for the Bailey Alumni Lecture.

Past Speakers

  • Sarah A. Moore (PhD, 2006), Professor, University of Wisconsin [2022]
  • Aretina Hamliton (PhD, 2018), Director of DEI, Brandeis University [2021]
  • Mark Graham (PhD, 2008), Professor, Oxford Internet Institute [2019]
  • Mary Gilmartin (PhD, 1995; MA, 2001), Professor, Maynooth University [2018]
  • Edward Carr (PhD, 2002), Professor, Clark University [2017]
  • Jamie Winders, Chair and Professor (PhD, 2004; BA, 1998), Syracuse University [2016]
  • Vincent Del Casino, Jr. (PhD, 2000), Vice Provost and Professor, University of Arizona [2015]